What’s Handicap? Main Handicap Systems

The handicap is a numerical measure of the ability of an amateur golf player for a tee of a particular tour.

It represents the potential to get a gross result above a professional player. Therefore, allowing players of different levels to compete on equal terms.

The lower the handicap, the better the player's level.

A player whose handicap is 0 is named "Player Scratch", and the player whose handicap is around 20 “Bogey player ".

It is also possible to have a handicap below 0, which is called handicap "Plus". The player who has this handicap must add his handicap to the result at the end of the game.

Professional players do not have handicaps, they always play scratch.

Handicaps are normally managed by the Golf Club or the National Associations of Golf, following a system that determines the handicap of each player for each tee of any tour.

The handicap of the tour or play is the number of strokes to deduct off the player's score to determine its net result in the game. It is expressed in integers, rounding the result if necessary. It is calculated by applying a handicap to the player (Exact handicap) of the following formulas:

• For 18 holes: Exact Handicap x (slope value / 113) + (field value - par for the course)

• For 9 holes: Exact Handicap x (Slope / 226 value) + (value field - Par for the course)

Value Field and Slope are granted by the RFEG.

Each Golf Association applies a system of rating route which takes into account the factors influencing the difficulty of the tours.

When a player plays on a given tour, they receive a certain handicap adjusted to the difficulty of the course and may receive extra shots if it is a difficult route or a reduction if it is simple.

Official handicaps vary from one country to another as well as the rules of their calculation.

Handicap systems used by the main associations of Golf and Golf My Rounds supports are:

- USGA Handicap System (United States Golf Association)

- Handicap System CONGU (Council of National Golf Unions)

- EGA Handicap System (European Golf Association)

- RCGA Handicap System (Royal Canadian Golf Association)

- AGU Handicap System (Australian Golf Union)

- SAGA Handicap System (South African Golf Association)

Stay Connected